Bellevue Hill

This was my second go at Bellevue Hill in Waterton.  On the first attempt thunder and lightning sent Jessica and I back before we even gained the ridge.  This was a rest day, and the light was pretty bad, so I took the opportunity to make an illustrated example of a typical easy scramble in the Rockies.  The summit view was nothing spectacular, but it did offer a good view of Mount Galwey, which looks like a giant Art Deco office building, made into a mountain.

Bellevue_NTS

Bellevue_GE

Bellevue_01
This is an overview of the first part of the climb
Bellevue_02
The base of the initial ascent gully
Bellevue_03
From the top of the gully
Bellevue_04
The Crux step, not too difficult, but bad crumbly rock over a not-too-friendly drop
Bellevue_05
After gaining the upper ridge, I can actually see the ‘summit’. I’ll admit that it was farther away than I thought!
Bellevue_06
The view from the top
Bellevue_07
I returned via the next ridge to the West of the summit. It put me back on the road 1.7 km West of my car after a little bushwhacking, but was still much faster and safer than down-climbing the ascent route
Leave a Reply

