Mounts Carthew and Alderson

This was a big day out.  I woke up at 5am and drove down to Waterton (around 1 hour from Blairmore).  I saw two big bucks, a black bear and a grizzly on the trail.  I also climbed two mountains each nearly 2700 M.  The view of Mount Alderson from Carthew’s summit is probably the most impressive I have seen in the park.  It was also a Saturday in Waterton, which meant I was not alone – although the early start meant I hiked in on the Carthew-Alderson trail alone, and made it all the way up Alderson before even seeing anyone else.

Carthew_01

Carthew_03
Oh, and I saw a moose
Carthew_04
The route up Alderson. It looks worse than it is, but there are two steps which require minor downclimbing along the way
Carthew_05
Another view of Alderson (from Carthew’s ridge later in the day)
Carthew_06
Terrain near Alderson’s summit
Carthew_07
The route up Carthew (seen from Alderson)
Leave a Reply

