Mount Haig

Today I did the early start again, although not quite as early as last time; I wanted to avoid seeing those early morning bears.  My ascent of Mount Haig, the highest peak in the Castle Wilderness, began at the base of Castle Mountain Ski Resort.    Highlights of the day included seeing a large black bear (there goes my strategy), and almost killing myself when a massive flake of rock dislodged in my hands while climbing up a rock band.

Haig_NTS

Haig_GE

Looking into the Castle from just off of Highway 3.  Victoria Peak is the prominent mountain on the left
Looking into the Castle from just off of Highway 3. Victoria Peak is the prominent mountain on the left
Arriving at the base of the ski resort.  I didn't know where to park, and apparently I was not supposed to park there!
Arriving at the base of the ski resort. I didn’t know where to park, and apparently I was not supposed to park there!
The ski trail legend.  Mount Haig is the peak whose top is cropped off
The ski trail legend. Mount Haig is the peak whose top is cropped off
I am considering renaming my project ..
I am considering renaming my project ..
My route on the East ridge of Haig
My route on the East ridge of Haig
Close up of rock bands on the East ridge.  I almost took a nasty fall on the one with the arrow
Close up of rock bands on the East ridge. I almost took a nasty fall on the one with the arrow
I am bringing a postcard to leave in every summit register now
I am bringing a postcard to leave in every summit register now
Summit view looking North
Summit view looking North
Leave a Reply

