Johnston Canyon and the Inkpots

I hiked this trail with my parents when I was young, but somehow confused the place with the ‘devil’s paint pots’ in South Dakota.  I remember the vision of clear, deep pools recessed in the ground with trees growing immediately next to water, and always bugged my family to take me back, to what I thought was South Dakota.  I apparently forgot that the Inkpots are set against a striking backdrop of Rocky Mountains.. Well, I found them again after nearly 20 years.

Scenic Johnston Canyon
Scenic Johnston Canyon
The first of the Inkpots, and my favourite.  Replete with a crust of ice
The first of the Inkpots, and my favourite. Replete with a crust of ice
Fascinating
Fascinating
Grey Jay, moving fast
Grey Jay, moving fast
The larger Inkpots, and landscape typical of the area
The larger Inkpots, and landscape typical of the area
Leave a Reply

