New Hampshire 2009

Since my return to Montreal in mid-November 2009, I have been preoccupied with work (both toward completing my own project, and working for other artists); so much so, that until last week I had no time for outings in the mountains – save for one day’s climbing in Southern Quebec at Mont Pinacle.  I was very much looking forward to a week of recreation in New Hampshire, while staying at a cottage in North Conway; that is until I came down with an intense cold.  In the end I only went snowshoeing three times, and merely once the objective was a mountain.  That being said, I enjoying a very relaxing week reading Rev. William Spotswood Green’s Among the Selkirk Glaciers, and Fridtjof Nansen’s Farthest North.  In this way I enjoyed the adventures of others by the fire with a glass of brandy.  In any case, I did manage to squeeze out a few photographs on various short walks which demonstrate the beauty of the area, and on the ascent of Mount Chocorua on Christmas Eve, which proved to be an excellent outing in itself.

Sabbaday Falls, off the scenic Kancamagus Highway
Jessica at a pool above Sabbaday Falls
A boardwalk above the Falls
Jessica, and friends Justine and Terryll at the Rocky Gorge scenic area
Mount Chocorua from the White Ledge trail
From just below the summit of Chocorua a few days later
Frost-impregnated granite on the summit of Chocorua
Summit marker scratch and win before
Summit marker scratch and win after - I won!
The Flume Gorge in Franconia Notch
One thought on “New Hampshire 2009

  1. I look at these photos and am mesmerized. The surroundings are beautiful, although it looks difficult. But best of all I am related to the landscape photographers 🙂

Leave a Reply

