Little Jimmy Simpson & Iceberg Lake

Since I first laid eyes on Bow Glacier from the Icefields Parkway, I wanted to ascend to its toe. I don’t know why I waited so long. I had been up to Bow Hut in 2009, and imagined the undertaking to reach Iceberg Lake as being more challenging. Little did I know that the only think separating the hoards from reaching this pleasant position is a brief but chilly river ford. Having read other trip accounts, I decided to begin the day with an ascent of Little Jimmy Simpson. I don’t know if I have ever received such a reward with so little toil in the Rockies. Through and through this is a highly recommended outing!

01_ge_iceberg
Little Jimmy Simpson on the right, Iceberg Lake on the left
03_bow_lake
The ascent path to Little Jimmy Simpson departs the lakeshore and climbs a ridge to this viewpoint above Bow Lake
04_waterfall
Waterfall en route
05_simpson_higher
The views just get better with elevation, and that is easily gained
06_meadow
Iceberg Lake coming into view above a heathery meadow
07_bench_lake
After descending Simpson, I followed the approach to Bow Hut, fording the river and making my way towards the lateral moraine cone. The route was well-trodden and even marked with flagging in places!
08_crowfoot_mountain
Crowfoot Mountain from just below Iceberg Lake
09_iceberg_lake
Made it to Iceberg Lake, without breaking a sweat!

2 thoughts on “Little Jimmy Simpson & Iceberg Lake

Leave a comment